Welcome to the #IASB18 Annual Convention digital program!

Get started today in 3 easy steps:

1)  Create an account and sign in
2)  Browse sessions, speakers and the schedule
3)  Build your personal itinerary

Pro tip: Select a session and download handouts/presentation slides listed under the session speakers.

We’ve linked each session to the IASB Standards for Effective School Boards. Use the search function and type in any of the following keywords to find sessions related to the Standards: Visionary Team; Student Learning; District Culture; Policy/Legal; Fiscal Responsibility and Advocacy.

Connect with IASB on Twitter and like us on Facebook.
Thursday, November 15 • 2:45pm - 3:30pm
Unifying & Moving Forward After Difficult Decisions: A Deeper Dialogue Session

Sign up or log in to save this to your schedule and see who's attending!

Feedback form is now closed.
Sooner or later every board team will face difficult decisions that may lead to split votes, hard feelings and dysfunction. This session will outline a framework boards and superintendents can put in place to proactively deal with stressful situations, and participants will have an opportunity to work through real-life situations in a supportive environment. Potential topics and scenarios include budget challenges, building closures, consolidations, whole grade sharing agreements, difficult personnel and student issues.


Sue Gates

Board Vice President, Vinton-Shellsburg Schools
avatar for Mary Jo Hainstock

Mary Jo Hainstock

Superintendent, Vinton-Shellsburg Schools
avatar for Kim Huckstadt

Kim Huckstadt

IASB, Board Development Facilitator; UNI, Ed. Leadership Professor
Dr. Kim Huckstadt worked in PreK-12 education for 34 years teaching science, serving as a Middle Level Principal and for 13 years, served as the superintendent in Maquoketa, IA. Currently, an Asst. Professor of Educational Leadership at the University of Northern Iowa, he is also... Read More →

Denise Schares

Ed. Leadership Professor, UNI
Denise Schares currently serves as Assistant Professor of Educational Leadership and Postsecondary Education and Director of the Institute for Educational Leadership at the University of Northern Iowa in Cedar Falls. Dr. Schares has held multiple leadership positions, most recently... Read More →

Kathy Van Steenhuyse

Board Member, Vinton-Shellsburg Schools

Mike Timmermans

Board Member, Vinton-Shellsburg Schools

Thursday November 15, 2018 2:45pm - 3:30pm
Room 315, Level 3

Attendees (21)